Today’s a Big Day

 

Yes, today is a VERY big day. Exactly three years ago today, I walked away from a wonderful job, with a wonderful team and a wonderful ‘boss’ (she hates it when I call her that). “Why would anyone do that?”, you might ask. It’s not easy to find a wonderful job, much less one that seemingly had it all. Well, let me share a little more.

I grew up in New England and moved around a little bit, ending up in Seattle in 1983. It was love at first sight! I grew, I married, I earned my bachelors degree, I worked at Microsoft, I got divorced, I moved to Washington, DC to be near family. For 15 years in DC, I continued to grow, living overseas for a short time on an international assignment, earning my masters degree, falling in and out of love, and landing at a major non-profit’s national office. Yes, life was ok for a while. But Seattle always called. I knew I would return some day. But, I anticipated that would be in retirement. However, fate had other plans.

There was this slowly growing unease with where I was in life. All the pieces of my life started to unravel a little bit, eventually reaching the point where staying in DC and NOT returning to Seattle was no longer an option. Yes, I HAD to return and the sooner, the better. But, how?  It took me more than a year of searching for the answer to how to move away from family, find work and relocate myself. It was a daunting task, to be sure. I struggled to find the way to make the move ‘simple’ (ie. find a new job).  But a simple answer didn’t come quickly. Rather, there was a day when I woke up and knew, as clear as I could, that it was simply time to just go.

Once that decision was made, events unfolded like magic. This is the mystical part. I gave notice at work, and was met with a hug from my boss who knew I was following my heart. I put my house on the market and it sold in two days. A friend in Seattle offered me a landing spot as I settled in. Several friends offered to drive across country with me. I signed a contract to work with my company on a consulting basis for a short time. Virtually every roadblock that could have stopped me was eliminated. It was one of those situations where I had clearly made the right choice and I was steamrolling my way to my new life, the life I chose.

I arrived in Seattle, Memorial Day weekend, 2013. Life has continued to improve, work is thriving, and I have everything I can imagine. It’s a wonderful place to be, and I’m now compelled to share my journey, and the lessons I’ve learned with the world. I often hear from women how my story has inspired them. It’s brought me to a place where I want to focus on guiding others though this same transformation. I believe everyone should be happy, living THEIR life. That’s now my passion in life. I’m no super hero, I don’t have any special powers. I just had a big dream that I knew I had to make real. You can too!

I’d love to hear from others. What’s your dream? Have you made it come true? Or are you still trying to figure out how to get there. Let’s be in this together.

Here I am, following my return to Seattle, the city where my soul soars, living the dream!10356129_10203225328889770_2677803981806207759_n

Leave a Reply

