Keeping on When You Want to Give Up

14509774584_49b92d6299_zI’ve shared both the good and bad aspects of solopreneurship. For the most part, the good outweighs the bad. Well, it’s been a month since I last wrote, and for good reason. You see, when everything about your business is on your shoulders, sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

Recently, I’ve been struggling with some health issues that have had me under the weather, not up to my usual energetic level, and falling behind. On the one hand, there is no boss to get mad at me. On the other, if I don’t do it, it doesn’t get done.

I’m happy to say things are getting resolved and I’m returning to my normal level of work – and it feels great! But, as always, there were lessons learned here that I thought I would share for all you budding entrepreneurs out there.

  1. Get help. I’ve decided to outsource my daily accounting work. With an undergraduate degree in accounting, I thought I could manage my own books, but in truth, the reason I left accounting as a profession is that I didn’t enjoy it. So, one task off my plate! Whether I’m well or sick, the work will get done efficiently and effectively.
  2. Take care of yourself. Since you essentially have control over your schedule, make it work for you. I was able to arrange my appointments so that I had time every afternoon to take a well needed nap. My clients still got the help they pay me for and I was able to nap just enough to keep going.
  3. Cut yourself some slack. I’m something of a perfectionist, and doing anything less than my best upsets me. But here I was, unable to sleep nights, tired, running on empty and not thinking as clearly as usual. I had to accept my situation and allow myself to simply do the best I could do.

It’s true. Being an entrepreneur is a double edged sword. And one I live with great appreciation and joy. Would I do anything different? Would I go back to “a regular job” that might make life easier? Absolutely not! This is the life for me. I get to work with wonderful people, changing their lives, and having all the variety this work offers. Yes, I’ll have trying times, but there is always a lesson and I always come out stronger.

Leave a Reply

