It’s Hard for Entrepreneurs to Make Time for Themselves

img_0379

It’s been some time since I’ve taken time to sit and write; a clear sign that I am one busy entrepreneur! It happens. We build our business and things grow and soon we forget, or choose not, to make time for ourselves. After all, if you’re not manning the desk, who is?

I’ve experienced this recently. My last blog post was August 30, and there’s a reason for that. I’m busy and business is growing. That’s absolutely wonderful and I enjoy every minute. But if I don’t take time to rest and rejuvenate, how long can I sustain this? It’s a hectic pace, this running your own business, so it’s important to stop every once in a while, do something for yourself that you enjoy and that will restore your energy.

As I’m prone to do, I took my vacation to the extreme. I didn’t take a week off. I didn’t take two weeks off. No, I took three weeks off to go on a European vacation with family. Yes, it was a bit too long, but it allowed me to step away from work, forget my daily routine and obligations, and do something for myself without schedules or commitments.

My work as a coach requires a lot of energy, a lot of helping, a lot of giving, so I do find myself ’empty’ at times, needing to spend some time on myself. It wasn’t easy to step out of my routine. I first made sure all my clients were in good shape for my absence; even made myself available if needed. Now, having just returned home, I find myself eager and ready to continue my work! I feel energized, relaxed, fulfilled in a way that allows me to again give completely to my work.

Being an entrepreneur can drain you and steal every minute of every day, so it’s important to remember to take as good care of YOU as you do your business. Maybe a long 3 week vacation isn’t the answer. Maybe it’s long weekends with family, or even by yourself. But make that effort to plan your time. Only then are you going to be able to maintain the pace and level of commitment that being an entrepreneur requires. And in the end, your business will flourish even more for it.

Leave a Reply

